The Leonard E. Gibbs Award

The Social Welfare Coordinating Group (SWCG) Editorial Board has created an awards program to encourage production of rigorous systematic reviews that can inform social welfare policy and practice.

The first of these awards is named in honor of Leonard E. Gibbs, one of the leaders of the Evidence-Based Practice movement who passed away in 2008.
In 2015 the award was made to Marc Winokur, Amy Holtan and Keri Batchelder for "Kinship Care for the Safety, Permanency, and Well-Being of Children Removed from the Home for Maltreatment: A Systematic Review"

Inquiries and nominations should be directed by e-mail to

You can read more about the Leonard E. Gibbs Award, eligibility criteria, and how to nominate, here.


Contact Us

  • P.O. Box 4404, Nydalen,
    N-0403 Oslo, Norway
  • (+47) 23 25 50 00
  • (+47) 23 25 50 10
  • Web: