The John Westbrook Award for contributions to Knowledge Translation

The Annual Award in recognition of outstanding contributions to knowledge translation (KT), and the dissemination and implementation of evidence.  The award winner will receive up to US$1,000 toward the costs of attending the annual Campbell international conference,  at which they will give a lecture on a subject to be agreed with the chairs of the John Westbrook award nomination committee.

Nominations for 2019 should be sent to by 30 June 2019. (1) with subject title John Westbrook award, (2) name, affiliation and email for the person being nominated, and (3) a short description of up to 400 words outlining the nominee’s contribution.

The award committee is convened once a year by the co-chairs of the Campbell Knowledge Translation and Implementation Coordinating Group. All nominations since their last meeting shall be considered.

The award has been instituted in recognition of the contribution of the late Dr. John Westbrook and is supported in part by a generous bequest made by Dr. Westbrook to the Campbell Collaboration.  If you would like to contribute to the John Westbrook Memorial Fund, to support the continuation of this award in recognition of Dr. Westbrook’s contribution, please send an email here.

Dr. Westbrook was an ardent supporter of the Campbell Collaboration, serving as co-chair of Campbell’s Knowledge Translation and Implementation Coordinating Group and on the Collaboration’s Steering Committee. He also served as a reviewer for the Education Coordinating Group (ECG) and was an author of three Campbell systematic reviews. He worked tirelessly to build a disability presence at Campbell and was instrumental in establishing and chairing the Disability Subgroup under the ECG. Through the NIDILRR-funded Centers on Knowledge Translation for Disability and Rehabilitation Research (KTDRR) and Knowledge Translation for Employment Research (KTER), he encouraged researchers and professionals in disability and rehabilitation to explore and understand the value of systematic reviews, utilize review findings, and participate in systematic review development process.

More can be read about John Westbrook’s contribution here.

List of award winners
2018: Merete Konnerup

2017: John D. Westbrook, PhD


Contact us

  • P.O. Box 222, Skøyen,
    N-0213 Oslo, Norway
  • (+47) 21 07 81 00